Mozart’s Grand Mass at the Cairo Opera House

17-12-2015 11:15 PM

Nader Shukry

To mark the height of the Christmas season, the Cairo Opera House will be presenting, for the first time ever in Egypt, Mozart’s Grand Mass in C Minor and Bohuslav Martinu’s Concerto No. 1 for cello and orchestra. The Mass and concerto will be played by the Cairo Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Nader Abbassi, on the evening of Saturday 19 December. The concert will feature cello player Ayman al-Hanbouli, sopranos Catherine Manadaza and Dalia Farouk, tenor Jeseph Kauzman, and bass Reda al-Wakeel, as well as the Acapella Choir with choirmaster Maya Gvineria.

The Cairo Symphony Orchestra was founded in 1959 by the Austrian conductor Franz Litschauer.

Watani International
17 December 2015

(Visited 26 times, 1 visits today)