Egypt wins waterbird conservation award

09-09-2018 11:33 PM

Lillian Nabil

Environment Minister Yasmine Fouad announced in a press conference earlier this week that the Egyptian Environmental Affairs Agency (EEAA) has been awarded the AEWA Waterbird Conservation Award for 2018. The award is granted by the Agreement on the Conservation of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds (AEWA) prize.

In winning the award, Dr Fouad said, the EEAA become the only government body to win acclaim in this regard after the Netherlands. She spoke highly of the efforts exerted by the nature protection sector to sort and detect waterbirds across Egypt, including in Lake Nasser, Lake Burullos, Red Sea islands, and the River Nile.

Egypt is one of 114 countries signatory to AEWA, an intergovernmental treaty dedicated to the conservation of migratory waterbirds and their habitats across Africa, Europe, the Middle East, Central Asia, Greenland and the Canadian Archipelago.

Developed under the framework of the Convention on Migratory Species (CMS) and administered by the UN Environment Program (UNEP), AEWA brings together countries and the wider international conservation community in an effort to establish coordinated conservation and management of migratory waterbirds throughout their entire migratory range.

Watani International

9 September 2018

(Visited 22 times, 1 visits today)